"Tunnel of Love" - Bruce Springsteen

Columbia Records 1987
Album cover

Rolling Stone review of this album

    Track Listing:

  1. Ain't Got You
  2. Tougher Than The Rest
  3. All That Heaven Will Allow
  4. Spare Parts
  5. Cautious Man
  6. Walk Like A Man
  7. Tunnel of Love
  8. Two Faces
  9. Brilliant Disguise
  10. One Step Up
  11. When You're Alone
  12. Valentine's Day

Everyone knew he was a skilled songwriter, but how many anticipated the unadorned beauty that graces this album? It is one thing to write a great song but a great album is a much more difficult task, and Springsteen offers a textbook example of how it is done. There is a very real sense of structure here, every bold lyrical statement challenged elsewhere by fragile explorations of what it means to love. Musically, his gestures are small and intimate, gently cupping the faith and doubt expressed in the lyrics. An album about the heart from the heart.
Site feedback: david@lovetown.net

Back to the Bruce Springsteen discography